Books by Theme

When You Can't Read Just One

Have you ever been disappointed when a story ends and you have to say goodbye to characters you've come to know? Luckily, many children's books are part of a series so kids don't have to read just one. Series books have been around since children's literature began; the following are both old series and some new ones that we recommend for children ages 0-9. Whichever book kids choose, we bet they'll want to read another!

Quotable Quotes: The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more you learn, the more places you'll go. -- Dr. Seuss

26 Fairmount Avenue

By: Tomie dePaola
Age Level: 6-9
Reading Level: Family

The first in a series of autobiographical chapter books about Tomie dePaola's early years, this story focuses on his family's move from their apartment in Meriden, Connecticut, to the now famous address, 26 Fairmount Avenue. This Newbery Honor book is sprinkled with humorous sketches, and is ideal for reading aloud and for the sharing of family stories.

Amber Brown

By: Paula Danzinger, Tony Ross
Illustrated by: Tony Ross
Age Level: 6-9
Reading Level: Independent Reader

I, Amber Brown, have a lot to worry about. This third-grader faces ex-best friends, homework, and school pictures with ingenuity and determination. Featuring Paula Danziger's trademark wit and insight, the Amber Brown books explore common and often difficult issues for kids with amazing sensitivity and humor.

Arthur Series

By: Marc Brown
Age Level: 3-6
Reading Level: Beginning Reader

Before Arthur was a television series, he was the star of his own series of books. Children of all ages enjoy Arthur's everyday adventures at school, home, and camp. Younger children will enjoy picture books about the young aardvark, while a series of early chapter books are just right for the newly independent reader.

Chet Gecko, Private Eye Series

By: Bruce Hale
Illustrated by: Bruce Hale
Age Level: 6-9
Reading Level: Independent Reader

Chet Gecko is a sassy, wisecracking fourth-grade detective. Along with Natalie Attired, his mockingbird sidekick, he solves the many mysteries that plague Emerson Hicky Elementary. Each pun-filled novel introduces new silliness to this Sam Spade-esque series.

Dinosaurs Before Dark (Magic Tree House #1)

By: Mary Pope Osborne, Sal Murdocca
Illustrated by: Sal Murdocca
Age Level: 6-9
Reading Level: Independent Reader

Time-traveling siblings, Jack and Annie, are celebrating their 20th anniversary in print. Join them on their first fantastic adventure to the time of dinosaurs. The occasion is celebrated with new illustrations, updated dino-info, and a letter from the author.

Encyclopedia Brown Series

By: Donald Sobol
Illustrated by: Donald Sobol
Age Level: 6-9
Reading Level: Independent Reader

Boy detective Encyclopedia Brown is the fifth-grade mastermind behind Idaville's police force, "a complete library walking around in sneakers." Each book is set up so that readers can try to solve the case along with the boy genius, and the answers to all the mysteries are found in the back.

Fox Series

By: James Marshall
Age Level: 3-6
Reading Level: Beginning Reader

Fox thinks of himself as extremely clever – will anyone be able to outfox him? Ink, pencil, and watercolor illustrations accompany the text of these sprightly, humorous, and appealing tales.

Frog and Toad Are Friends

By: Arnold Lobel
Age Level: 6-9
Reading Level: Independent Reader

Five short stories about best friends celebrate everyday activities. Each of them has a very distinctive personality; but Frog and Toad find that their differences are what make their friendship special. Gentle illustrations and an easy-to-read text create treasured tales. Be sure to read other stories about the amphibious friends in Frog and Toad Together and Frog and Toad All Year.

Max Board Books

By: Rosemary Wells
Age Level: 0-3
Reading Level: Beginning Reader

Max is a determined three-year-old bunny, while his big sister, Ruby, is a smart, goal-oriented seven-year-old. Although the two siblings squabble as siblings often will, they usually manage to come to an agreement by the end of each of these satisfying stories.

Nate the Great Series

By: Marjorie Sharmat
Age Level: 6-9
Reading Level: Independent Reader

Nate the Great has been delighting beginning readers for 30 years. The quirky characters and simple, clever storylines are a big hit with kids – all of whom love to solve each mystery alongside the most popular sleuth in the business.

The Talking T. Rex (An A to Z Mystery)

By: Ron Roy, Jon Steven Gurney
Illustrated by: Jon Steven Gurney
Age Level: 6-9
Reading Level: Independent Reader

Friends and amateur detectives Dink, Josh, and Ruth Rose set out to help their friend whose money for a new dinosaur museum has been stolen. Who could have gotten into the life-sized Tyrone the Tyrannosaurus and why?

Trixie Belden Series

By: Julie Campbell
Age Level: 6-9
Reading Level: Independent Reader

Trixie and her friend Honey find mystery and adventure wherever they go in their Hudson Valley town, Sleepyside. Originally written in the 1940s and 50s, Trixie Belden is remarkably contemporary while having the wholesomeness of an earlier time.

Proceeds from the sale of books purchased at help support the Reading Rockets project. Thank you!

Sign up for our free newsletters about reading

Summer Reading Tips to Go! Delivered to your mobile phone in English or Spanish. Sign up today!

Lindamood-Bell Learning Centers

Our Literacy Blogs

Maria Salvadore
Maria Salvadore
July 5, 2016

Start with a Book: Read. Talk. Explore.


"So please, oh PLEASE, we beg, we pray, go throw your TV set away. And in its place you can install, a lovely bookshelf on the wall." — Roald Dahl